Wei Zhongle Nu Trance [NNA081]

SKU: N/A Categories: , Tags: ,

Release Date: April 25, 2015


1. A Gift (4:22)
2. Fortunate 2 (6:00)
3. To Man (3:17)
4. Darting Fish (3:21)
5. Pledge (4:00)
6. To Woman (5:06)
7. Return of Bright Stream (4:50)

Nu Trance by Wei Zhongle is an exciting moment in music. It explodes oppositions of globalism and hermeticism, male and female, precision and feeling. Sounding like a broadcast from the future, This Heat and 80′s Downtown New York lay somewhere in its world mutant genetic imprint. The members of Wei Zhongle are nomads. The intuitive vocals by Rob Jacobs are sometimes in English but mostly in a language of his own, inventive but perhaps also channeling ancient vocal traditions, while laying down hypnotizing guitar. Sam Klickner’s forceful but intentional drums are a free ticket to Bonkersville. The effects-enhanced clarinet by John McCowen floats over and weaves through it all, pulling everything out in four dimensions. Minds are blown when these three elements merge.
Co-release – Vinyl & Digital versions available from Hairy Spider Legs.